Having A 5-Finger Forehead

I’ve always wanted to address the issue of having a big forehead, and in my case, having a 5-finger forehead. A 5-finger forehead basically means that all my fingers fit the space of one forehead. Usually one sees a lot of 3-finger or 4-finger foreheads but having a wide enough forehead for 5 fingers? (P.S: It has to be your own fingers though)

Big foreheads in my family are inherited from my Borneoan native grandmother on my father’s side. Besides the wide forehead, I also inherited the native thunder thighs and hips…sigh. I’m still self-conscious about my forehead but not as much as when I was younger. Puberty was hardest for me when my zits definitely stood out really well then!

I used to have bangs when I was a little girl but since then I’ve grown out of them into…longer fringes. One of the reasons why I don’t bother having a fringe is because of my fine hair (like Christina Ricci). Fine hair and large forehead? Probably not a great idea. I used to give horror looks to my hairdresser in the UK whenever he tried to convince me to have a fringe! Fortunately I didn’t give in to his hairdressing demands 😀 I normally wear my hair down to try not to cause too much attention to my forehead. If you’re wondering how a wide forehead looks like, here are some famous people:

L-R: Kate Bosworth (not too wide), Christina Ricci, Tyra Banks, Rihanna

Kaftan: H&M; High hair bun to distract from my large forehead on a hot day (is it even working?!)

Of what I can remember, I only know of one good friend who has mentioned that she likes it when I pull all my hair away from my face with a headband, more than letting my hair down. Normally the only reason why I’d tie my hair exposing my wide forehead is because my hair is oily (no time for a wash) or partaking in some extenuating exercise. Nevertheless, I did find the genuine comment rather nice. The thing is, I still don’t know what she sees in that look!

Anyway, as part of growing up one learns to deal with things we are born with 😉 Though, one unsatisfactory definition of a 5-finger forehead from Urban Dictionary states this:

A forehead that is 5 fingers or more wide. Commonly associated with ugly chicks and losers.

Really?! 😦 130 people voted it up too, compared to the 11 who voted it down (me included). That’s just mean. I think that definition should be changed.

Necklace: DIY

In any case, as this is also an outfit post…my parents were rushing me for my own birthday dinner a month ago so I just slipped on this kaftan dress which is very pyjama-like. It was a great idea though because I ate so much that my stomach started to bulge so the kaftan was great at covering up my gluttony 😀

I had also recently tried my hand at layered necklaces using these bright turquoise beads and I’m quite happy how my first try turned out! It also suited my kaftan well, giving me that boho-chic look I wanted.

So…what are your thoughts on 5-finger foreheads? Do you happen to know any thing associated with it (because I don’t)? I’d love to know your thoughts! xx

39 thoughts on “Having A 5-Finger Forehead

  1. I know how you feel.I have a big forehead too (actually, a rather large head) but I also have a ridiculous amount of thick hair…so I suppose it balances out. But I also HATE tying my hair back as well….its such a pain! Great post!

  2. Saran, you do NOT look like you have a big forehead! And with your hair pulled back in a top knot you’d think it would be startlingly clear if you do.

    Love that you included photos of some gorgeous ladies with wide foreheads to show that beauty isn’t a one size fits all type of thing!

    • Oooh I don’t? 😀 Yayy! The high bun must be helping in some unknown way then! I think there should be more hairstyles out there for women with big foreheads, but the celebrities are already providing good looks to help 😀

  3. “A forehead that is 5 fingers or more wide. Commonly associated with ugly chicks and losers. ” –> I totally disagree with this! As far as I know, most of the beauty queens and intelligent people have big foreheads. So I really believe that that statement should be changed! I myself have big forehead that’s why i have my bangs on, and I have plenty of friends who have big foreheads and believe it or not they are all beautiful! And so are we:))

    • I know! What is says on Urban Dictionary is so uncool 😦 But that’s a good one, beautiful AND intelligent! 😀 Aww thanks for the sweet words! Your bangs really suit you, but I don’t know with my type of hair!

  4. I could’t stop myself of counting how many fingers my forehead has!! hahaha! I got 4!! You DON’T have a big forehead at all!! you look gorgeous and cute with you hear up! very classy! ^____^

  5. I have a large forehead and thin curly hair.
    It’s hard not to be secure about it! Not only do we have Urban Dictionary pointing it out, but there are also all those people who bash Tyra and Rihanna for their forehead sizes.
    I do what you do and always put my hair in a high bun or off to the side to pull attention away from my forehead. I wish it were easier to feel confident about it.

  6. Got inspired about you this.! Even me, have a 5 finger forehead, and its my BIGGEST INSECURITY. ever! .. I’ve been bangs as a camouflage for my fivehead for 8 years. Avoiding beach and Pools, since it will reveal how big my forehead is.. After reading this, i’ve gain confidence showing to the worl my 5 finger forehead… Hope you can also add up some Asian celebrity with 5 finger forehead too! Planning to be bangs free next year… 😀

    PS. I’ve been using mane n’ tail shampoo to let baby hairs grow inbetween my scalp and forehead. It’s quite effective.

    • Aww I’m glad you’re comfortable in your own natural beauty! I will have to look for Asian celebrities with 5-finger foreheads but will update here if I do find! That’s quite a handy tip on the shampoo – will look out for it! xx

  7. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR FOREHEAD. In fact I’m jealous cause my forehead is soo small that growing up I pulled my hair back a lot hoping it’ll be a big bigger. Now I’m normal with 3 fingers but my family has small foreheads. My grandma has it and so does my mom. In fact my mom’s forehead was sooo small she had to continually WAX her forehead and she waxed so often that eventually they just didn’t grow back anymore but you see the hair holes there. (IDK what I’m talking about, they look like pores but you know what I mean) Now my mom’s forehead is barely 2 and a half fingers. I hear larger foreheads make you look younger! ;D Don’t worry! Know that there are chicks out there SUPER jealous of such foreheads. (Namely me!)

    • Haha Chelsi, what a different account hearing from you! Personally I would love a smaller forehead but it’s true how human beings will never be satisfied with what they have! Thank you for your nice words 🙂 xx

  8. Your not alone! Trust me! I have a hugeee forehead! But you a lucky one because you have thick hair, mine is SOO thin! Your super gorgeous though! I love that outfit! 💕

  9. I’ve finally found people struggling with the same problem as me . I have a huge, wide forehead too and i just hate it . I’ve got fringe and everyone keeps telling me how cute i am oh but they don’t know how horrible i look without my fringe really so ugly and it just makes me think i will never be able to be with someone let’s say we are În a park and he pulls me to stay with my head În his arms and he ll see my huge ew forehead gosh how he ll run what are we going to do..

    • Dear Anne,

      I’ve found so far that we are our biggest critics! Many of my friends have not given any ill-intentioned comments regarding my big forehead and the fact that your fringe gives you positive comments is what you should depend on for now. No doubt certain hairstyles will not suit our big foreheads but there’s no harm in going with what looks good to us 🙂 As for the guy, if he does that to you then there is no reason why he should even be of interest as that is quite disrespectful! xx

    • oh my gosh. my greatest insecurity.
      I’ve imagined horrible and bad scenarios just like you talk about
      My forhead is always hidden and currently being away from home for a few years, no one at my new place knows the truth
      And I get lots of compliments
      But I am so afraid that if I find a boyfriend, he’ll be horrified if they eventually find out and maybe he’ll be disgusted and turned off
      That is something that plays in my mind over and over
      My first boyfriend when he first got a glimpse of my forehead after seeing me only with bangs said,” You have a big head” and though he still loved and cared for me and I experienced caring and loving on a great level, I still cannot forget that comment and I don’t want any man to say that to me, even though it’s the truth
      I inherited it from my mom who got it from her dad
      I remember one time when I pulled my hair away from my face, My daddy told me to cover it up, that it was just like my mother’s or something to that effect.
      Again, my father is a wonderful husband and father and my mother often says how lucky she is she married him but that one comment….
      My life was horrific in school, even though I was good in school there were days I just didn’t want to go to school because of the endless taunting and names
      I don’t think I can ever accept or flaunt or be proud of my forehead. The years of bullying and ridicule rings so clear in my head
      Can you be my friend?

      • oh my gosh. my greatest insecurity.
        I’ve imagined horrible and bad scenarios just like you talk about
        My forhead is always hidden and currently being away from home for a few years, no one at my new place knows the truth
        And I get lots of compliments
        But I am so afraid that if I find a boyfriend, he’ll be horrified if they eventually find out and maybe he’ll be disgusted and turned off
        That is something that plays in my mind over and over
        My first boyfriend when he first got a glimpse of my forehead after seeing me only with bangs said,” You have a big head” and though he still loved and cared for me and I experienced caring and loving on a great level, I still cannot forget that comment and I don’t want any man to say that to me, even though it’s the truth
        I inherited it from my mom who got it from her dad
        I remember one time when I pulled my hair away from my face, My daddy told me to cover it up, that it was just like my mother’s or something to that effect.
        Again, my father is a wonderful husband and father and my mother often says how lucky she is she married him but that one comment….
        My life was horrific in school, even though I was good in school there were days I just didn’t want to go to school because of the endless taunting and names
        I don’t think I can ever accept or flaunt or be proud of my forehead. The years of bullying and ridicule rings so clear in my head
        Can you be my friend?

  10. I have a big forehead and I wouldn’t let scraping my hair back be a no no if I wanted to do that (I have so many baby hairs tho lol). Personally I think they make the wearer look younger and more unique looking, plus there’s more hair styling opportunities 🙂

  11. I’ve got a big forehead too….and I’m scared I’m gonna go bald……but its been an year and half and it is of the same size. But still its very big.none of my friends have foreheads like this……frankly i don’t have a beautiful face and this forehead is making me go crazy.. :-[ but who said that people with big foreheads are ugly losers……the one who have said it is a big loser…….beauty lies within us….in the way we think…..and as faras i know happy girls are the prettiest as said by audrey hepburn….so be happy big forehead girls…….

  12. Hello, I have a generous 5 finger forehead (almost 6 finger) with light colored fine hair, which was thick in my teens. But lost half of my hair due to illness and it never came back thick again so now it is fine AND thin! I did get teased a lot, but trying to wear bangs can make my hair seem even thinner and I have a center forehead cowlick so i look like the old lady in the park character from Carol Burnett shows.

    Wearing a fringe looks fine in person as my friends have complimented me on such. BUT, in photos half of the fringe doesn’t show up so it only highlights how thin it looks and in one particularly bad photo I look like Squiggy, from Laverne and Shirley, had a sister! Or, as friends and strangers say “a deranged serial killer!” I have kept the I.D. and use it for comic relief at the DMV and other places:)

    I think what seems the best eye trick is when the hair on top is higher than the sides (if your face shape can handle that)…like you posted, or maybe a pony tail a la Gwen Stefani.

    Any other tips to help be more photogenic would be appreciated, My husband would love more photos of me….but you add in my crooked nose, lopsided mouth etc. and even my photographer friend admits “you are much prettier in person.” Ugh!

  13. I have a huge forehead as well. I used to be ok with it, wearing my hair any style, but when I hit puberty at the end of middle school one of my classmates pointed out my huge forehead and I’ve been self concious ever since! I wear a headband ALL in the summer all the time and I have a fringe in the winter or wear hats and etc. I can’t believe that comment from middle school has stuck with me all my life. Kids can be so cruel :/. I’m still so embarrassed by it and my boyfriend doesn’t think it’s big, but if I pull my hair back and go out in public I feel really uncomfortable. I wish that I could come to terms with my forehead or that the kid in my class never said what he said about it so I could be comfortable in my own skin. I feel so limited by my self-hatred. *sigh* but I don’t know how or where to start with being okay with how I look..I envy those with such confidence in their foreheads.

    • I have the same story as you Ebby so don’t feel alone! Before high school I was always comfortable with the way I look. I would wear my hair in a pony tail all the time (mainly because I have such thick red hair) but probably the beginning of High school was where I would get teased that I had a “5 finger head”. At first, I would laugh along because it really didn’t bother me and I always thought it was better than a tiny forehead. But after getting so much criticism it eventually started to bother me and take away my confidence. So what changed? Ive always had the same size forehead? The mindset. Only you can believe it is a flaw if you let it. And I know, its easier said then done but its true. And I would highly NOT recommend bangs or something to hide it because you are only proving that you are uncomfortable and it will it make it harder to be more confident because then you will constantly think about someone seeing it. Hope I help someone with the same problem! 🙂

  14. It was grade school age when I realized something was wrong with my forehead. I don’t remember how it came to my attention, but it has been in my thoughts daily since then. I am now 36. I haven’t finished college even though I had education goals. I rarely go out except to my job as a lab assistant. I hate getting my bangs trimmed because I don’t want anyone to see my forehead. I get really upset when people ask if I’ve always had bangs, or my sister tells me bangs are juvenile. It’s been life changing in an extremely negative way. I can’t help but think that if someone had notice how bad it was, I could have had surgery as a teen. Maybe I could have had a happy life?

  15. Oh man what I wouldn’t give for a a 5 finger forehead haha I’m easily a 6 finger! Coupled with thin hair on top is a nightmare. too thin for a proper fringe so I have to settle for sidefringes and hope my hair doesn’t thin out too much at the side.

Leave a Reply

