Borneo Wear: The Maxi Dress

Borneo has only 2 seasons a year: Summer (dry season) and Monsoon (wet season). Currently here in Borneo we are experiencing the monsoon season and it’s pouring like mad outside now. While I was in the UK there was never such a thing as the triple combo: lightning-thunder-rainstorm; here in Borneo it’s a constant reminder how crazy the monsoon seasons can get.

Fortunately at the moment during the day, it’s still sunny! The maxi dress makes an appearance.

Maxi dress: Boohoo.com; Bag: 13″ Cambridge Satchel in Cobalt Blue; Flip Flops: Havaianas in Peacock

I normally avoid figure-hugging maxi dresses because it always seems to emphasize on my native hips and thighs (yes, can you see it?!). For someone barely 5′ 2″, a tight maxi dress is not what suits my shape. I prefer grecian styled ones which are more flattering.

The only reason why I wore this particular maxi dress is because I had it in my closet for 2 years (not worn because I only realised it was figure hugging later on) and I felt sorry for it… (no, really). Well, okay, maybe because I have been working out lately and have been feeling more toned than when I first got back home. This means less muffin top! I’ll always have issues with my hips and thunder thighs (genetic tribal genes) so the only way to make it less obvious is by working out and eating properly 😉

Besides, this maxi dress isn’t all too constricting and trapping heat so if it works for this hot climate, why not?

P.S: If you’re wondering about that painting on the floor, it’s of my mum! 😀 Unfortunately I didn’t inherit her slim build and wavy hair. My brothers did 😦

TGIF have a great one everyone! xx

8 thoughts on “Borneo Wear: The Maxi Dress

  1. Cute dress!

    I don’t have any of the tribal genes (unless a splash of Native American genes counts and I don’t think it really does) but I do have the hips and thighs thing going on so I totally feel your dislike of hip hugging clothes! It has to be either seriously fitted (with Spanx) or flowy. Anything in between makes me look pregnant. lol.

    • Hahaha Jen you totally get me!! You’re still tribal if you have Native American genes 😉 A friend told me that Maoris in New Zealand are considered Maoris if they are only 1/8 Maori 😀 Sigh, even with exercise these hips and thighs are not going anywhere! 😦 Come to think of it…I think I should get myself some Spanx!

Leave a Reply

