DIY: Update Your Straw Clutch

Where I live in Borneo, we’re famous for our ikat prints and straw clutches/bags. The thing is, as these natural straw bags rarely use colours it can look quite bland. I was actually thrift/vintage shopping in Edinburgh in the summer and I noticed this typical bland ikat print clutch in one of the shops. I picked it up and thought to myself why I should buy it when there are loads back in Borneo. However, I had a DIY plan in mind at that time so I picked it up for a cool £3.00! It was for charity too, so why not? 😉

I have been seeing these great hem trims in fabric shops and have wanted to do something with it so badly that when I saw these vertical lines on the clutch, I couldn’t help but imagine how a hem trim would look on it. So, here’s how I updated a straw clutch:

Unlike other materials, the hemming didn’t 100% stick very well to straw so I had superglue to help me out to give it a more secure bond! Alternatively you could always use a glue gun too 😀

To know how much trim you need, I brought the clutch along to the fabric shop and measured the trim myself. I chose a paisley print for the trim 😀

To know exact length, measure the trim by looping it before you cut it!

The hemming is slightly wider than the trim, so I trimmed it to fit.

Place the hemming in between the clutch and trim. I placed some superglue below the hemming for a better bond.

Keep on ironing! Place the iron for a minute or more until you are sure that the hemming has melted to bond the clutch and trim together!

So there you have it! An easy DIY tutorial on updating you straw clutch!

I like the contrast here, I am such a big fan of prints! 😀

Lastly, my thoughts and prayers are to readers affected by Hurricane Sandy, keep safe!  xx

8 thoughts on “DIY: Update Your Straw Clutch

Leave a Reply

