Exclusive (Made In Borneo) Handmade Tribal Spiked Necklaces

It’s the weekend! 😀 I will be away in the heart of Borneo from tomorrow for more than a week to see my grandparents and also to help out in the primary school there. Daytime is typical equatorial hot (35°C), but the temperature drops to about 15°C at night so it is quite refreshing.

Before I leave, I’d leave you with some of the pieces that I’ve made due to my current love and obsession with spikes (help me!). This also helps support my creativity 😉

Do visit my little selling area on ASOS Marketplace where I am selling the items! Click here to go there 😀 Alternatively you can also email me about any enquiries (especially if you don’t have Paypal!) 😀

I liked how the spikes worked well to give off a ‘tribal’ feel – I feel that I can justify using the word ‘tribal’ because I am, a Borneoan native by blood anyway 😉

It can be really difficult finding a blank canvas to make the jewellery pop but this vintage white bustier puffy dress from my mother’s closet did quite the trick.

When I was in Budapest on my eurotrip this summer, I found these gorgeous aztec-ish print beads that were SO gorgeous! The thing is, everytime I tried to make it work into a piece of jewellery – it always failed to excite me. That is, until I decided to mix spikes with it. There you have it 😉

View more of it here!

These beads from a Budapest market have a purple/black aztec print which is ultra gorgeous!

View more here!

On my eurotrip, my friend and I visited so many museums and who knew that centuries ago spikes were in trend? There was an Egyptian exhibition in one of the museums in Vienna, Austria and this gold fan collared necklace reminds me of Egyptian times.

View more of it here!

Also, who says you can’t mix silver and gold elements?

View more here!

If silver is too washed out for you, channel your inner goddess party girl with a neon blue chain!

View more here!

In this necklace, I liked how the black was a great contrast with the other colours!

View more here!

This necklace is the longest of the rest, and is rather chunky. Sky blue crystals make an appearance too, who knew?

View more here!

There are other items for sale on my ASOS Marketplace page, so do take a look and I’d love any feedback and thoughts 😀

Before I go, I’d like to let you guys know about a few friends who are blogging and raising funds for cancer research, or other special causes. Unfortunately I can’t join this special gig at the moment but I will in the future. Writers online / bloggers everywhere make an impact whether small or big. Lend some of your influence to good causes, so why not check it out here? Also, as it is breast cancer awareness month I’d like to gently remind you the importance of checking your breasts! 😉

Have a great weekend everyone! xx

12 thoughts on “Exclusive (Made In Borneo) Handmade Tribal Spiked Necklaces

  1. Saran, these necklaces are FAB! Love them.

    Also isn’t is SO inspiring to go to museums and peek around at some of the fashion and jewelry? I took the girls to the Museum of Natural History for their first time this summer and got totally lost in all of the amazing jewelry. It’s amazing and a great jolt of inspiration when you need some!

    • Thanks Jen!! 😀 I love how they turned out too hehe! And definitely, it’s always amazing what you pick up in museums and look what the trends were a looong time ago! It’s also pretty cool how here in Borneo the men wore spikes as necklaces too (think bones/teeth)! You and the girls must have loved the Museum of Natural History! Maybe someday I can visit it too 😀

Leave a Reply

