Project Revamp: DIY Nail Polished Brooches!

Coloured rhinstone costume jewellery seem to be all the rage currently, and I didn’t want to have go out to buy new pieces when essentially you could make your own! Not exactly make, but transform!

If you had art days (not a fan because I’m not ‘artistic’) in school and still keep your brushes and a bit of paint, this is the easiest project for you and for any young child trying to break free of painting paper or canvases (I am a horrible drawer)! Alternatively if you don’t have paint, but have nail polish this can work just as well! In fact, I only used nail polish which in my opinion works better because it dried so quickly!

Therefore this is what you’ll need:

  • Old costume jewellery brooches, especially if it has stones or rhinestones. Ask your grandma, grandaunt, mum, etc.
  • Small pointed brush for better precision. A harder tip works better for small spaces! I used a nail art brush from KIKO (404).
  • Paint OR nail polish
  • TIP: A colour may appear light once painted, so do as many coats as you wish – just make sure the coat beforehand is dry first!

Paint a few coats to give it a darker consistency! I was on a roll, so I started painting mum’s other old brooches!

The rhinestones on this pearl flower brooch was badly discoloured and the whole product just wasn’t worth wearing anymore. Neon yellow seems to pop out really well especially when it’s in the sun! In the same manner, I gave a sad birdy some sunshine here:

Many stones of his lower wing was missing, but if you fill up the hole with paint/nail polish it will harden and give it a different texture!

So what are you waiting for? Nail polish can paint other things besides nails! ๐Ÿ˜€ I think the brooches are happy with their new makeovers, what do you think?

What an easy project revamp! Super easy and fun to do! ๐Ÿ˜€ xx

16 thoughts on “Project Revamp: DIY Nail Polished Brooches!

  1. This is one of my favorite transformations! So easy and it’s especially good for pieces with missing stones! I have a few pieces that I love but the stones have fallen out and I keep meaning to do this. Maybe this weekend!

    • Aww thanks Jen! It’s unfortunate there are missing stones but it happens, and well the new coat of nail polish seem to do them just fine! I’d love to see your instagram pieces if you do it ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Pingback: Special Edition: Round ‘Em Up with Cool Bloggers! | Sweetjellybean.com: Beauty, DIYs, Mom.ents

Leave a Reply

